Rebel Dogs and Old Blue Barns

It’s only Thursday, and I already feel those cozy Sunday vibes. Ever read one of those poetry books that talks about traveling backroads and enjoying coffee? Today felt like one of those days.

Josh and I’s exploration was to Plainville, which is about a 15-minute drive from our campus. There was a coffee shop I heard about through my friend Gabby that I really wanted to try.

Rebel Dog Coffee Co. is a quaint and cozy coffee house on Farmington Avenue. With a cute seating arrangement and small coffee stand, this casual coffee spot is like a mix of European influences with a dash American modernism. Rebel Dog has a nice variety of expresso and brews, including macchiato, lattes, light and dark roasts, iced coffees, teas, hot chocolates, and cafes.

IMG_0652

I indulged in a café mocha, and my inner basic girl THRIVED off the foam art on top. It was very rich and creamy. There’s nothing more delicious than a fresh, coffee-ground and pressed hot beverage. Rebel Dog serves up amazing quality!

Their menu also contains delicious bites to devour. Simple, but tasty treats include bagels, benedicts, soups and sandwiches.

On our way back from the coffee house, Josh and I passed by the Old Blue Barn. There isn’t much to say other than it was just an actual old, blue barn. I found it aesthetically pleasing. The barn itself is over 100 years, for 20 years it’s been an adorable gift shop selling candles, jewelry and bath and body works.

IMG_E0647

After working hard this week, I really felt the urge to just get out and explore. Even though it’s still a little cold, I can feel Mother Nature shifting from winter to spring. The days are getting lighter and longer; I’m even starting to notice a more friendly vibe amongst the locals. Pleasant weather days really make the difference in a New Englander’s attitude.

Thank you Rebel Dog and Old Blue Barn for reminding me to stop and breath every once in awhile. I really enjoy finding simple pleasures and beauty, especially around local areas; it makes me appreciate my environment a little bit more.

Sincerely yours,

-~*Wayfinder*~-

For more information on these two places, visit their sites at:

https://www.rebeldogcoffeeco.com/

http://www.theoldbluebarn.com/

Leave a comment